Home > Events, Quilting > Piece to Peace Quilt Show

Piece to Peace Quilt Show

May 21, 2011

This past weekend I spent several hours wandering through a maze of quilts at the annual show of the Fraser Valley Quilters’ Guild with Amy.

I had my brand new camera with me, took over 200 pictures and probably should have taken a water break during that time. I almost bought some amazing fabrics from Passionate Dyes, but didn’t have a project in mind so I resisted. I’ll have to at some point though.

Here’s a selection of some of the quilts that really stood out to me. I’ve credited the quilter along with the title, but full details can be found on my flickr set.

Lightening Strikes by Debra Sanderson

Lightening Strikes by Debra Sanderson

Bargellos were some of the first quilts that made me say “oh my, do I want to do that”. I still haven’t even tried the technique but this variation definitely renews the inspiration.

Oceanview by Lois Haasjes

Oceanview by Lois Haasjes

I’m going through a phase where I love landscapes. This beach scene pulls at me in a very personal way and the real feather is a lovely touch.

Be Aglow with the Spirit by Elaine Kethler

Be Aglow with the Spirit by Elaine Kethler

I am constantly thinking about this pattern in other colour palettes, Black and teals or fuchsia are the most frequent. This could be my first on-point project.

from Garden Row Quilt by Marilyn Smith

from Garden Row Quilt by Marilyn Smith

This was one of many cool element in a larger Garden quilt. I want to make a whole quilts of these adorable birds. There was also an awesome paper-pieced tomato block I’d love to track down.

Unknown (oops!)

Unknown (oops!)

I love the twist on a classic HST value quilt. (Is there a proper name for this?) I forgot to take a picture of the description so if you know who made this I’d love to add their name.

It was a very good show and I have a bunch of new ideas.

Categories: Events, Quilting
  1. LB
    June 1, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    wow – the Lightening Strikes quilt is jaw-droppingly amazing.

  2. June 18, 2011 at 3:28 am

    I love HSTs and hope to make a value quilt someday. So many projects, so little free time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
