Home > Quilting > Circle of Deer

Circle of Deer

May 27, 2011

I’ve been trying my best to do all the challenges for the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild. It has so far been a great way to learn new techniques and experiment with fabric and blocks.

SAM_0238

Starting Point

Our most recent challenge was to make a circle of flying geese block, and turn it into any kind of project we liked. I had never done paper piecing before so I decided to make tit even harder on myself and do some fussy cuts for the “geese”.

I used some teal linen from a fabric store in Surrey as the background, and lovely deer fabric from Spool of Thread (yes, I shop there a lot). I threw in a triangle of a pink from Kona.

Completed Block

Completed Block

I haven’t made anything out of it yet. I think I might make it into a sewing machine cover, but am not 100% sure. I’ll definitely add more of the pink fabric and more deer though.

Categories: Quilting
